History of Medicine Club

Few students of Mymensingh Medical College thought that it is wiser to spread the very little leisure time that a medical student can afford in more academic way than the general student does playing cards or gossiping or involving in political parties. So they chalked out a blue print of an academic & non-political organization where medical students of different beliefs could share their knowledge with each other to build a better, stronger & bright future. They launched a meeting in the library room of Mymensingh Medical College. That is how Medicine Club started its journey with only 32 members from 31 January 1981.

Medicine Club was started as an academic organization. But very soon, the members of this organization observed that there were many patients in the hospital, who were too poor to buy their necessary drugs, blood, operation instruments for their treatment. Observing this situation, Medicine Club executives formed the “Patient Welfare Project” to help those poor patients. This patient welfare project conducts all the social welfare activities of the club. This is how Medicine Club became as an academic cum social organization from 10th January 1984.

Academic activities of Medicine Club are limited to the medical students. But social activities of Medicine Club are provided for all.

The concept of Medicine Club was defined to Mymensingh Medical College for several years. It was also in 1987 when they started to spread their concept to other medical colleges. The first attempted took place in Rajshahi Medical College in 1990. But they were successful for the first time in Sir Salimullah Medical College in 1990. Barisal Sher-E-Bangla Medical College unit was the next one to start in 1992. Attempts were also made in Dhaka Medical College & Sylhet M.A.G. Osmani Medical College in 1992. The first central conference of Medicine Club was held in 1992 at Mymensingh Medical College. Three active units (MMC unit, SSMC unit & SBMC unit ) took part in that conference.

At the end of 1996,some new units were installed. These are Rajshahi Medical College unit, Comilla Medical College unit & Bangladesh Medical College unit. Faridpur Medical College was included in Medicine Club family in 1998. At the end of 1998, Khulna Medical College unit started their journey. Dinajpur Medical College was brought into view at 19th August 1999. Rangpur Medical College unit & Shahid Ziaur Rahman Medical College unit started in January 2000. In the mean time Pioneer Medical College unit & Gonoshasthaya Samaj Vittik Medical College unit have started their noble action of Medicine Club. Shaheed Suhrowardy Medical College unit have started their journey in 2008. Central Medical College Unit have started their journey in 2010. Noakhali Medical College Unit & Cox’s Bazar Medical College Unit have started their journey in 2011.

“Medicine Club” being born in 1981 is an accomplished organization now. It is prepared now to face the reality of the 21st century.